Adcenture Order Rules

Version 1.
A File from Aayko's The Legends Corner

There are two Adventure Order Codes:
A2 to request information on an Adventure where you only have the adventure Number.
A3 to have a sponsor Complete an adventure and claim 'rewards'

1. WHERE THE A2 AND A3 ORDERS GO
These orders are placed in the Basic/Transfer/Training section of the orders and may be mixed in with any of the other A-B-T-L-Q etc orders that can go in the Basic block.

2. A2 AND A3 TAKE A CHARACTER ACTION
Both of these orders take a character action regardless whether successful or not.

3. WHEN TO USE A2 OR A3
At this point, there is no need to ever use the A2 order since current design is giving players all the information that they need to complete an adventure up front. As players become more comfortable with the adventures, situations may be structured in which players who meet certain requirements can request information on an adventure.
The A-3 Complete Adventure/Claim Reward Order is used when your character has accomplished everything that is needed. No partial rewards - this is a pass/fail world aspect.

4. WHO DOES AN A3 ORDER
All Adventure completions must be sponsored by a CHARACTER that you own and is alive. If you are insane (a requirement for some adventures) there is the usual chance that it will not work. If you have the condition of being Turned to Stone (as opposed to the status of "Wasted and Stoned" in some modules) you may not sponsor the adventure order.

5. WHAT TO PUT IN THE VARIOUS PARAMETERS OF THE ORDER:
The A3 is the completion and the REWARD code. Everything that is listed in the order has to deal with where the effect or the 'reward' goes. The overwhelming majority of all Adventures are for the Sponsor only. So all that is needed is the Sponsor and the Adventure Number.
In some cases the Adventure affects a specific target force, or a target guild or a target character. In those cases the TARGET parameter is used. In the case of soldiers being involved, then not only must you list the target Force but also the slot involved, and this is why we use Parameter A. In summary:
ORDER CODE: A3 THE CLAIM REWARD FOR COMPLETING ADVENTURE
SPONSOR: C??? THE CHARACTER WHO IS COMPLETING THE ADVENTURE/CLAIM REWARD
TARGET: THE FORCE/CHARACTER/MARKET/GUILD THAT IS SHARING THE *REWARD*. USE THE F/C/M/G PREFIX TO THE ID NUMBER OTHERWISE BLANK
ITEM#: ALWAYS THE ADVENTURE ORDER
PARAMETER A: ONLY IF THE TARGET IS A FORCE AND THERE IS A SLOT OF SOLDIERS INVOLVED IN THE REWARD, THEN GIVE THE SLOT #

6. COMMON PROBLEMS/ MISUNDERSTANDINGS/ FREAK OUTS:

a. Being somewhere:
If the Adventure requires you to go to a location. It means being INSIDE the location. it is OK to be inside a guild that is ultimately inside the correct location.
If it says go to a province where "...?...(something)" happened, you have to go there, not just know it. Often provinces will have a message attached that will clue you in.
If it says go to a province that says "...?...(message)", then it is the message that is attached to the province that will confirm that you are at the right spot.
If it says "be inside" and it is a guild adventure, then it means be inside that guild (you would never have guessed that, would you?).
If it says go to the Guild it means be inside the guild, not in the same province.

b. Prisoners
Prisoners are generally a REQUIREMENT of an Adventure. They are not the target of an Adventure Order. When you have a requirement that calls for an adventure, the machine checks the prisoners OF THE SPONSOR one by one and selects the first prisoner that meets the necessary prisoner requirements. Say you have to bring a prisoner who is a Ranger and a Sylvan Elf to the Guild of Endless Torture. You go inside the guild and then the computer will start to look at your prisoners. If you have a preference to have one of the victims taken rather than another, then stash the prisoner who is to be spared the 'honor' somewhere else...otherwise do not complain if the computer makes its own selection.

c. Where Am I?
Some adventures have hidden 'rewards', so you may wind up in some house of ill repute with a disease, strange status and maybe a piece of tobacco between your teeth. If you are not where you think you are suppose to be, check what adventures you completed; but usually there are little 'gotcha!' messages on your turn results to clue you in.

d. What Am I?
All adventures work off BASE values (for requirements and for rewards) - well, unless otherwise stated. To find out your basic self use the order code: View Basic Self V5.
Again: Strength/Dex/Con/Bty/PC/Tac/INF/skills requirements all work off of BASE, so status, items, spells, bless do not help.
Prestige can go either way, but in all the SOP module adventures they use Effective Prestige.

e. Where is 'there'?
When you have to go the place of battle or a burial site or some such, the two ways it is controlled is a specific province record or a province with a specific message on it. Often designers have left clues that a place may be a quest point of interest in the messages attached to a province. There are also references in stories and the like. There are also various 'atlas items' out there that list places for a particular game with different degrees of variation as indicated in the atlas found. Taking cross game information can lead to deadly consequences as designers are aware of the temptation and hate cross-game information abuse - prepaired to get nailed hard if you try such abuse.

f. What do I have?
When you must have an item to complete an Adventure, you must have it in one of your personal possession slot; if you have it equipped, then the Claim will fail.
If an item is needed for an adventure, there will be at least three copies of it somewhere in the game at the start - this is to ensure that players have an opportunity to find at least one. So unique-sounding items have multiple copies the in the game, and when you do your adventure, the particular copy of the item you used is gone but the others aren't affected. If the adventure was once-only (as most adventures are, unless they say otherwise), any other copies of the needed item become useless for that adventure - but they can still have other uses, either in other adventures, or as equipped or activated item.

g. 'Fishing for Numbers'
Character actions are consumed regardless of success or failure of an adventure. Events have been geared to discourage 'fishing' blindly for numbers as well as the placement of some negative adventures designed to trap people who go fishing blindly for numbers in the middle of nowhere for kicks and chuckles.

h. As Adventures are a very complex system, it must be admitted that adventures tend to be somewhat error-prone. So if you fail an aventure with a message "You do not fulfill requirements", and you are very sure you DO fulfil requirements according to the Books and Dreams, then be pig-headed and bug your GM, providing him with all the necessary info, and he will do a database check.